Vacation time! + Books I want to read by 2016

Next week I’m going on a vacation to Pennsylvania! I will be on a plane for about 8 hours, so I will most likely finish A Thousand Pieces of You on that flight. After that, I’ll read Ten Thousand Skies Above Us. When I’m done with that one, I don’t know what I’m reading. There are a couple of books I have in mind though.

I don’t know how much i’ll actually read when I’m out there, because I know i’ll also be spending time with my family (of course), and filming vlogs throughout the week about my adventures with my family. I’ll post that video on here when I come back. I can’t wait!

My dad might take me to Midtown Scholar, a very popular bookstore in Harrisburg. It’s got three stories! Three! I cannot wait to spend the day there and roam the shelves.

Here are some books I’m going to try and find while I’m there.

18623494

This one seems very interesting. It’s about a woman who is a mother and wife. She dies, and then has to watch her husband and daughter cope with the loss and move on. I don’t usually read sad books, but I lost my mother in my childhood, so this catches my interest.

22608277

Possession. Power. Passion. New York Times bestselling novelist M. J. Rose creates her most provocative and magical spellbinder yet in this gothic novel set against the lavish spectacle of 1890s Belle Époque Paris.

That right there is enough for me to love this book when I read it. Witchcraft meets gothic paris meets mystery and then there’s painting involved too? It’s a huge mashup of all the things I love!

22430677

This is a story about Ruth, who was born, raised, and abused in a brothel. When she finds Hatchet Inn, she trains to be a street fighter. There she meets Charlotte, and the two team together to beat the world that’s against them. Just the plot alone is fascinating. I’ve read fight club, but for the main character to be a woman that was abused in her childhood? This seems like an amazing read. I hope it is.

22716467 This novel is about the life of George Sand, a woman novelist that was famous in her time. She was also infamous, for she dressed like a man, smoked cigars, and had many love affairs with talented, well known men and women. I’ve never heard of George Sand, but maybe this book will get me reading her work.

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

