My Top 5 books of 2015!

I haven’t read as much as I wanted to this year; after all, I started Bierbaum Bookworm in the middle of June on a whim, and it’s been going ever since. But I have found some works that will stay in my heart for a while. Here they are:

  1. The Martian by Andy Weir

I had to. You know I did. It’s my top favorite book of the year, and it should be more popular than it seems to be. Just the science involved, coupled with the fact that he lives on Mars for almost two years, it’s incredible. Also the fact that Mark Watney is a sarcastic asshole. A brilliant one.

2. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

This book had a lot of lessons to be learned, and was very thought provoking. Why wasn’t I required to read this in school? It covered race issues, sexism, classism, marital abuse, familial abuse, verbal abuse, and just about anything else you can think of. Though dark and twisty, it does have a good ending, with characters that you’ll love.

3. Love Letter to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

My emotions were definitely stirred up with this charming book. I do love books written in letter format, and it’s a bittersweet sadness and happiness rollercoaster. I recommend this to someone going through mourning, it will help (hopefully).

4. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman

This book should be obvious. It’s a beautiful work of art in a visual sense and a stimulating plot and characters take your breath away. It is fast paced, a love story in space with lives hanging in the balance of life and death. There’s a lot of fire and sickness and badass-ery that ensues. A great crowd pleaser. I can’t wait for the next one!

5. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Though I feel the end is a cop out, the rest of the book is very emotion filled and stimulating. It covers religion, cultism, it’s a murder mystery, and it’s just dark. But it’s definitely worth the read.

 

What were your favorites this year? I’d love to hear all about it 🙂

Facebook

Youtube Channel

Book Club!

Twitter

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

