Outlander by Diana Gabaldon- A Review

10964

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

I will say this now…. This is a slow book. Especially in the beginning. Nothing really happens that fast. It is definitely a character driven story. I actually got so bored reading the beginning of this book that I started writing my thoughts in the margins. Things like “Claire is extremely dense.”

But this is one of those books where pulling through is actually worth it. As I read this book, I grew to love her. I met all these different people in the “past”, and they interacted with all differently. I get to see very single facet of her personality. And Jamie’s.

Speaking of Jamie, there is a LOT OF SEX in this book. So much sex that it’s unnecessary. There’s only one or two points where it actually gives something to the plot. It feels like a good 40% of this book is just her in love with Jamie, falling in love with him, marrying him, and having sex with him. A bit too much in my opinion.

Other than that though, the book is great! The language is compelling because you can practically hear each character’s accent. A lot of them are scottish, but Gabaldon gets the difference between the dialects of that great country. You have the scotts from the bigger village speaking more formally, and then the country folk speaking more like a Scottish person.

I know there is a tv show of this series, and I do want to watch it (Jamie…. Yum!) But I feel connected to the books, no matter how slow the story is going. When I’m at work or just away from this book in general, I was thinking of it. Constantly. Wishing I could jump into the pages and relax in that beautiful countryside.

I gave this book a 4/5 stars on goodreads, and hope you guys read this one too!

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outlander by Diana Gabaldon- A Review

  1. I agree – it was slow at first (I almost contemplated putting away for later AKA not finishing), but I’m glad I pushed on. Have you thought about reading the second one? I’m about halfway through, and it’s turning into so much more than a love story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

