Why I am not finishing The Perfect Witness

For the Bout of Books readathon, I decided one of my books would be The Perfect Witness by Iris Johansen. I’ve only gotten halfway through so far, and i’ve stopped completely. I’m disgusted by the main character. Why? She’s not the focus. Her hero is the focus, she’s just there to question his motives constantly. She says “I don’t trust you.” about 134,452,234,234 times. It feels like it anyways. About 85% of the book is a conversation between to two of them.

19286590

Don’t get me wrong, the concept is fantastic. The beginning of the book is fast paced and you’re plunged into the story. But then Mandak rescues the main girl (I don’t even care to remember her name…) and then for the next ten pages (TEN pages!) They argue about whether or not he’s a good guy, what’s his motive, he has a power but we don’t get to know what it is…. He’s all powerful and very secretive, which would have been fine… If the main character had trusted him. The whole story would’ve moved forward if she had just said “okay.” instead of constantly bickering with him.

So why was this book in every grocery store and airport for about a month? Because of the intro. The beginning of the book, like I said, is fast paced and strong. You have the main girl running through the forest from two people chasing her. She runs into a mysterious man who’s killed those two men with not a drop of blood on his shirt. He’s got connections, he’s got a power, he wants to help her (and then later on use her) and that’s what we want for her.

If only the main character wasn’t such a wimpy whiny girl. No wonder there are so many 1 star reviews of it on Goodreads.

2/5 stars

 

LINKS:

Tumblr

youtube

Facebook

 

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I am not finishing The Perfect Witness

  1. thatssojacob says:

    A bold choice to abandon a book; I usually feel incredibly guilty, except for when it took me a week to read 10 pages of A Commonwealth of Thieves; at that rate, it would’ve taken me a year and a half to finish it! BTW, thanks for being my 1200th follower, I hope you enjoyed your shout out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

