Blue. River. Apple. | A Review

24599879An Exploration of Alzheimer’s through Poetry.

Confirmation that I was to follow in my father’s footsteps jarred me in ways I never imagined. Since hearing the news, I awaken between 3 and 5 in the morning. Zero dark thirty is when my eyes fly open and I’m full-on aware. The words that normally tumble off my tongue now flow feverishly by pencil over a yellow-lined pad—as though I am possessed. And I write. Poetry. It is through my stepping up, speaking out, and sharing my own very personal thoughts and feelings that will emancipate the stigma attached to the growing numbers of those of us relegated to a diminishing memory. It gives purpose to feelings of less than and bolsters a roguish stubborn ruggedness in me for a worthwhile fight—to maintain dignity, honor and respect.

I met Nancy at a book Signing at Booksorbooks, a local bookstore in my area. I was really taken with her story, she was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s Disease back in 2013. Right afterwards, she turned to poetry to get herself through the realization.

This book riveted me with the pure emotion you feel while reading Nancy’s poetry. She changes the font style throughout, to kind of illustrate her emotions better, and it works. I usually don’t like it when author’s do that, but Nancy uses it so well to put her emotions into perspective.
Here are some quotes that really stuck out to me:

“I really wish …
I could love me
…for trying to!”

And then this one:

Got it! I got it! I need assistance,
So I call upon Feng Shui.
Yep, wearing RED PANTIES is the solution
-Say what you may!

This quote really shows her having fun with it, keeping herself amused and happy in light of things, and I just really adore her more after reading this book. I am so glad to have met Nancy and really want to help her out.

11538990_502514579906764_7349274902361221920_o

Nancy Nelson was living in a small bedroom community outside Seattle when her family enticed her to migrate to :as Vegas nearly fifty years ago. Recently retired from a well-known insurance company and ready to relinquish her fast and furious pace, Nancy claims a calmer, quieter life as a writer. She has taken several writing classes, worked with a writing coach, and attended the Wordcrafters Writing Conference in Eugene, Oregon. This is her first book of poetry. 

Her Facebook Page

Food, Faith, and Alzheimer’s


Nancy was in a radio show about her book as well!  (She starts talking about ten minutes into it. 

 

quickfacts-imgEveryday, there is someone either going through this disease themselves, or taking care of a family member with Alzheimer’s. There isn’t much information we have about it scientifically, and it’s part of Nancy’s mission to get people more aware of Alzheimer’s. So to help her out, I’m going to share with you all some helpful links and blogs that can help you if you are going through the same thing.

Stages of Alzheimer’s

10 Signs of Alzheimer’s

The Literature of Alzheimer’s

Caring for a person with Alzheimer’s  <– many many links here!

 

 

 

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

