Her Name is Rose; a review

23014669

People used to say Iris Bowen was beautiful, what with the wild weave of her red hair, the high cheekbones, and the way she carried herself like a barefoot dancer through the streets of Ranelagh on the outskirts of Dublin city. But that was a lifetime ago.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I just had to get this book when I saw it at the library. The cover, as well as the drawings of flowers on the inside, are just to die for! I am a huge lover of flowers. The story is interesting as well. Iris’s husband died. Her daughter Rose left for college. She’s trying to find her place in life when she’s fired. Wants to fulfill her dead husband’s last wish.

I sat down at the pool hoping this would be a light read. It isn’t really, but besides that, I got through about 75 pages in an hour. Holy cow! I was hooked! The characters are well rounded, the plot is very well constructed. It’s all about finding people and staying connected, because you don’t know how much time you really have in your one life here on earth.

The writing is pretty too, if a bit dry. I found myself skipping paragraphs at a time because I didn’t feel the flow anymore.

 

I gave this book a 3/5 star rating.

 

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

