Harry Potter The Cursed Child – Initial Thoughts

So I just downloaded this book on kindle a couple of days ago, extremely excited. I wanted to let you know my initial thoughts for this book!

At first I was thinking “Oh I wish it was just a novel and not a playwright” But then I started reading it, and completely 180 with my opinion. The writer, Jack Thorne, has a sense of humor that fits very well with the Harry Potter feeling. I instantly fell in love with his “voice”.

The plot itself feels a bit restricted. I mean of course, this is a play, so they can’t have as much going on as the original books could have. I understand that, but I also feel it could be a bit more in depth. It does glance over certain things, and I’m left wondering “Well, how did they do that? How did they know the password?”

I’m getting towards the end, and surprises are coming up, and the pace is very nice. I’m actually on the edge of my seat right now, wondering what’s going to happen. Itching to go back and finish it. I want to  hold myself back though.

The characters all feel real and wholesome, the emotions are all there, and I definitely recommend it! Let me know what you think of this book in the comments below 🙂

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

