Reading a daydream: Cake Face review

41guoqh4jsl-_sy346_

As said on the cover, this is a novella. I finished reading it in one day! On my phone, in kindle, one page was one percent of the book. So yeah, it was pretty darn short!

I also skipped a few paragraphs here and there. But let me tell you about the book before I get to that.

So this book caught my eye because it’s my current daydream: A girl has a youtube channel, and wakes up one morning with a random occurrence; she now has almost 9,000,000 subscribers. For no reason.

This book pretty much describes what Harlow Miller would do if this happened to her, in a prefect world. It’s a book about the internal conflict, such as being desensitized to what you love once you have to work for it a lot, or losing interest once you’ve obtained your goal all of a sudden. It’s not a very deep book, it’s pretty on-the-surface, which is why I skipped a few paragraphs here and there.

There is a romance in the plot, but that’s not the main focus of the book. It’s pretty straightforward, actually. No doubts, no struggles. He automatically supports her and is an angel. She gets the guy in the end, happily ever after.

(Spoiler alert! Stop reading if you don’t want to be spoiled!)

There really is no struggle anywhere in the plot, except to turn down a huge makeup business. And just because of some mean comments. That’s the whole plot.

Phew. What a rollercoaster ride!

But jests aside, it was an entertaining read. I give this book a 3.5 stars out of 5. I wish it were longer and went more in depth with all the struggles of fame and stardom, but that’s just me, and I want that with every short book I read.

About Journaling Gurl

I'm 25, l love to read and write.
This entry was posted in book review, books, just read, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

